Ulster Schools’ Trial Teams Announced

Jun 8, 2023 | General News

The following players have been selected for the 2023 Ulster Schools’ Trial, which will be held at the Castle Grounds (Belfast Royal Academy), 690 Antrim Road, Belfast BT15 5GP on FRIDAY 9 JUNE.

Play will start at 12.30 pm – players should report to the changing facilities to the left of the entrance gates off Antrim Road at 11.45 am SHARP except by prior arrangement.  There is limited car parking in the car park immediately outside the gates.

Each player should bring some food to eat between innings – there is no catering on-site and there may not be sufficient time to visit local shops.

Team A

Mohamed Aahil (Grosvenor GS) (Capt.)
Alex Armstrong (BRA)
James Bell (Coleraine GS)
Charlie Downey (Lisneal College)
Harry Dyer (Campbell College)
Adam Leckey (RBAI)
Sam McMillan (Bangor Grammar School)
Sam Magee (Antrim Grammar School)
William Mann (Royal School Armagh)
Jake Montgomery (Lisneal College)
Tom Nicholson (Royal School Armagh) (w/k)
Josh Walker (Bangor Grammar School)
Max Wylie (BRA)

Team B

Carson McCullough (Campbell College) (Capt.)
Alex Carville (Down High School)
Tom Crothers (RBAI)
Rory Ellerby (RBAI)
David Kane (BRA)
Robert McFarland (Limavady Grammar School)
Scott Mitchell (Down High School)
Cameron Nawn (Foyle College)
Gavin Roulston (Holy Cross College)
Oliver Scott (BRA)
Charlie Simpson (Lisneal College) (w/k)
Michael Skelly (Bangor Grammar School)
James Wright (Down High School)

The match will be played with white balls.  Players should wear their school 1st XI kit (or club kit where the school does not have its own distinctive kit).

Other nominated players who are unable to attend the Trial because of examinations will also be considered for selection.

Any player who is unable to attend the Trial should phone or text the Chairman of the Schools’ Committee, Dr Murray Power, on 077 7552 0054 or email him at as soon as possible, clearly indicating why they are unavailable (e.g. injury or afternoon exam).