Northern Knights Squad For IP50 Opener Against Leinster Lightning

May 14, 2023 | General News

The newly named Rario IP50 gets underway on Monday with the Northern Knight’s campaign starting on Tuesday at 10:45 in Pembroke against the Leinster Lightning.

Tuesday’s squad is as follows:
James McCollum (Captain)
Ross Adair
Cade Carmichael
Matthew Foster
Matthew Humphreys
Tyron Koen
Josh Manley
John Matchett
Tom Mayes
Neil Rock (wk)
Morgan Topping
Ruhan Pretorius

Chair of Selectors Andrew Cowden commented on the first match day squad announcement of the new season:

“Firstly I’d like to thank and congratulate all the players and coaching staff for their hard work and dedication over the winter months. I’d also like to congratulate Ross, Mathew, James, Mark, Paul and Tom for their international call-ups during the winter and we hope these experiences will lead to successful IP seasons for them all.
The selectors have selected a squad of 12 for our first game of the Interprovincial season against Leinster Lightning on Tuesday at Pembroke CC. Paul Stirling and Mark Adair are unavailable due to International commitments. Still, we are pleased to have Matthew Foster available after recovering from a hamstring injury and we congratulate Tyron Keon on his first call-up to a Knights match-day squad. We’re also pleased that quite a number of our players have shown promising early-season form and we hope they take this momentum into the game on Tuesday.
We can also advise that Ani Chore has been granted a season-long loan to the North West Warriors to aid his development and maximise his IP playing opportunities. Ani still remains a big part of our future plans. 
With Mark unavailable, James McCollum will captain the side. I’d like to thank James for taking on the role and I wish him and his team all the best for Tuesday.”
The Inter-Provincial Series is the peak domestic men’s cricket competition in Ireland, which takes a best v best approach in supporting the pathway to the national side. All matches will be live-streamed in full on and live-scored on the Cricket Ireland Match Centre.