Gallagher Challenge Cup First Round Round-up

May 9, 2022 | General News

The Gallagher Challenge Cup second round ties are now set after four teams sealed their progression on Saturday.

Ballymena beat Templepatrick by 12 runs
James Kennedy helped Ballymena set up a trip to former club CSNI as he hit 51 in a low-scoring thriller against Templepatrick. Ballymena were in some early trouble as Ross Bryans (2-5) picked up the wickets of Michael Glass and Jack Gibson, but a determined effort from the middle order ultimately was the contributing factor to victory. Liam Peters (24) and John Glass (28) supported Kennedy and they posted 132 despite a late collapse which reduced them from 121-3 to 123-9 after some impressive bowling from Andrew Greer (4-27).

Templepatrick’s chase got off to the worst possible start as they were left reeling at 3-2, but just like Ballymena, their middle order steadied the ship with Ross Bryans (35) and Sunam Gautam (22) putting on a partnership of 70. It seemed as though they would cruise to victory from that position, but the combination of Michael Glass (5-32) and John Glass (3-12) produced a remarkable comeback as the visitors fell from 73-2 to 120 all out.

Bangor beat Donacloney Mill by 4 runs
There was another thriller at the Factory Ground as Bangor pipped Donacloney Mill after a magnificent final-wicket partnership from the home side almost got them over the line. Bangor scored 175 in the first innings, which was finished with a flourish by Will Simpson (28) and they started their defence off superbly by picking up two early wickets. As the Donacloney Mill wickets started to tumble after skipper Matthew Lyttle (22) and Aaron Kennedy (32) had steadied the ship, it looked like Bangor were headed towards a comfortable victory.

Andrew Bingham (37*) and Timmy McClure (14) had other ideas though, coming together at 123/9 in the 36th over and set about pulling off an unlikely victory. The aggressive nature of Bingham’s innings combined with the support of McClure brought them within touching distance, but Bangor held their nerve and will now travel to Lisburn next month.

Dundrum beat Lurgan by 7 wickets
A magnificent bowling performance from Stian Swanepoel (6-17) secured Dundrum their spot in the next round as they blew Lurgan away at The Meadow. Swanepoel took 6 of the first 8 wickets to fall – the other two being run outs – as Lurgan collapsed to 26-8 and were eventually all out for 31 with only Stephen Johnson (12) reaching double figures. Seven of the Lurgan batsmen fell for ducks during a sorry performance they will want to forget in a hurry, but Dundrum’s chase didn’t get off to the best start either as they were reduced to 7-2.

Captain James Martin (14*) made sure there would be no further drama after Liam Kearsley (10) was caught off the bowling of Callum Gibson (2-16). That sets up the only all-Section One second round tie as they host Derriaghy, who beat the County Down side by seven wickets in the league on Sunday.

Muckamore beat Saintfield by 40 runs
Muckamore’s reward for a 40-run victory over Saintfield will be a trip to Premier League side Cregagh. Batting first, the Moylena club were all out for 182 with opener Jamie Magowan (46) top-scoring before he was trapped lbw by Gareth Harrison (5-16).

Muckamore’s opening duo of Donald Dinake (3-20) and Neil Gill made a solid start to their defence before the crucial partnership between Harrison (21) and Kadeem Alleyne (44) was broken by Pavan Karthik (5-24). Karthik followed it up with a wicket next ball and also picked up the crucial dismissal of Alleyne to stall all Saintfield momentum, with the Demense outfit bowled ultimately bowled out for 142.

Gallagher Challenge Cup Second Round Draw (ties to be played Saturday 4th June):
Cliftonville Academy v CIYMS
Cregagh v Muckamore
CSNI v Ballymena
Dundrum v Derriaghy
Instonians v North Down
Lisburn v Bangor
Waringstown v Armagh
Woodvale v Carrickfergus