NCU Contingent in 2019 Women’s Toyota Super 3s

Mar 3, 2020 | Uncategorised

NCU Contingent in 2019 Women’s Toyota Super 3s

Richard White

The first round of the 2019 Toyota Super 3’s competition (Ireland’s peak domestic women’s cricket competition), will be held this weekend (May 19th), ahead of the international T20 series between Ireland Women and West Indies Women. Included in the three squads are Northern Cricket Union players Staci Maxwell, Jennifer Hanna, Cara Murray, Amy Hunter and Naomi Matthews.

The Toyota Super 3’s Series features three squads – Scorchers, Typhoons and Dragons – that play a series of 20-over and 50-over matches between May and September each year. The Dragons claimed the title in 2018, their second title in three years.

Tim Simmonite, head coach of the NCU Women, will coach the Typhoons Squad.

The squads

Dragons Squad
Kim Garth (Captain), Aoife Beggs, Aoife Brennan, Ava Canning, Alana Dalzell, Rachel Delaney, Anna Kerrison, Jane Maguire, Lara Maritz, Staci Maxwell, Eimear Mullen, Cliodhna O’Reardon, Clare Shillington, Jenny Sparrow, Kerry Tomlinson (overseas), Erica Turner, Mary Waldron, Sarah White. Coach: Clare Shillington.

Scorchers Squad
Shauna Kavanagh (Captain), Sadhbh Breslin, Sarah Forbes, Jennifer Gray, Jennifer Hanna, Cecelia Joyce, Isobel Joyce, Amy Kenealy, Ali Keenan, Gaby Lewis, Hannah Little, Sophie MacMahon, Tess Maritz, Caoimhe McCann, Cara Murray, Mya Naughton, Lucy O’Reilly, Rebecca Stokell. Coach: Andrew Poynter.

Typhoons Squad
Laura Delany (Captain), Aisling Byrne, Sarah Condron, Zara Craig, Amy Hunter, Vanessa Kelada, Maria Kerrison, Anna Kirk, Robyn Lewis, Louise Little, Naomi Matthews, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Celeste Raack, Una Raymond-Hoey, Cassie Stephens (overseas), Cliona Tucker, Niamh Walsh. Coach: Tim Simmonite.

Opening Fixtures

The first round of games in the Toyota Super 3’s T20 series will take place on Sunday May 19th at North Kildare:

  • Scorchers v Dragons at 10am
  • Typhoons v Scorchers at 1:30pm
  • Dragons v Typhoons at 5pm