Holders Through In Irish Senior Cup – Four NCU teams also progress (so far)

Mar 3, 2020 | Uncategorised

Holders Through In Irish Senior Cup – Four NCU teams also progress (so far)

Cricket Ireland

Holders The Hills are safely through to the next round of the Irish Senior Cup following a 40 run win over North Down. Naseer Shaukat’s 65 and 49 from Max Sorensen rescued them from a spot of trouble at 128 for 6, eventually posting 199. Taimur Khan with 4 for 28 was best with the ball for North Down with skipper Marty Moreland capturing three. Three wickets apiece from Deon Carolus and Tomas Murphy meant the Comber side were always struggling, with the only significant contributions coming from Peter Shields (35), and Andrew Sutherland (33).

Centuries from Robert Rankin and Richard Simpson saw Lisburn cruise to a nine wicket win at Glendermott, while Waringstown were even more emphatic ten wicket victors at home to St Johnston. Kyle McCallan conceded just six runs in his spell, picking up three wickets as the Donegal side made just 119. James Hall’s rapid half century saw the Lawn side race to the win in just over 15 overs. Another former Irish international to the fore was Ryan Haire, who made an unbeaten 58 as Muckamore shocked Coleraine. Chasing a revised target of 127 in 34 overs, the Moylena side were always in command with the experienced Haire at the crease.

Brigade bowed out to Civil Service North at Beechgrove. Ben Adair took five wickets as Brigade went from 101 for 1 to 158 all out. Jason van der Merwe also bowled accurately, picking up three victims.

Ardmore were the only NW side to win on the field of play – former Irish international Gary Neely’s 5 for 12 sparked a collapse as Ballymena went from 113 for 4 to 126 all out at Eaton Park. Zimbabwean Test player Foster Mutizwa top scored with 35 as Ardmore edged to a three wicket win. YM skipper Albert van der Merwe starred as his side beat Woodvale by 120 runs. He top scored with a quickfire unbeaten 74, and followed it up with 3 for 9, as Woodvale were dismissed for 105, chasing 225. 2009 winners Leinster won a low scoring thriller at home to National Cup holders Carrickfergus. Bilal Azhar’s three wickets saw Carrickfergus dismissed for 115 chasing just 122.

Clontarf, beaten finalists in 2014, survived a major scare before edging over the line at home to Cork County. Four wickets for Stephen Moreton restricted Cork to 143 all out, but three wickets for Amin Siddique saw the Castle Avenue side floundering at 104 for 8. They prevailed thanks to an unbroken 41 run stand between skipper Eoghan Delany (36*) and younger brother Andrew (13*). A scare for one of the competition favourites, but a win nonetheless.

Pembroke professional Jonno Cook was the star of the show in their hard fought 24 run win at Eglinton. He scored an unbeaten 84, sharing a 6th wicket stand of 87 with teenager Danny Hogan (26*), after the Sydney Parade side had been in trouble at 90 for 5. Chasing 178, Eglinton recovered from 45 for 5 to 137 for 5, thanks primarily to Jamie Millar’s 53. However Cook took 5 for 24 as the villagers last five wickets fell for just 16 runs.

Another five wicket hero was North County’s Conor Sheil in their 33 run win at Donemana. He sparked an amazing collapse at the Co. Tyrone venue, as the home side chasing 220 went from 35-0 to 39-6. Richard Kee and Ritchie McBrine blasted half centuries, but West Indian professional Brenton Parchment took three wickets as County won by 33 runs. Bready are also through to round two after receiving a walk-over v Terenure.

The games between CIYMS v Merrion, Instonians v Malahide, Railway Union v Strabane, and Fox Lodge v Co. Galway were all postponed and will now be played on Saturday May 23rd.

In the National Cup there was an amazing comeback win for Rush over Templepatrick – Saadat Gull taking seven wickets for just 15 runs as the Leinster side won by nine runs. Peter Allen’s unbeaten century saw Newbuildings chase 220 to beat Lurgan – their professional Niranjan Godbole had earlier also made a hundred.

Downpatrick won a low scoring affair against last season’s beaten finalists Killyclooney, while Michael Shannon’s four wickets helped Holywood to a 13 run win over Civil Service (Dublin).

In the other games, Laois beat Ballyspallen, Greystones thumped Sion Mills. Derriaghy overcame Phoenix, while Bangor had an excellent win at Bonds Glen.

Cork Harlequins received a walk-over, while the games between Academy v Burndennett, Balbriggan v Cliftonville, North Kildare v Drummond, Creevedonnell v Dundrum (LCU) and Ballaghaderreen v Midleton were all victims of the weather. They will be replayed on Saturday May 23rd.

Full Irish Senior Cup score summaries
Full Irish National Cup score summaries