Kamtekar spins Carrickfergus to National Cup glory

Mar 2, 2020 | Uncategorised

Irish National Cup Winners 2014 - Carrickfergus © CricketEuropeKamtekar spins Carrickfergus to National Cup glory

Cricket Ireland

Indrajeet Kamtekar spun Carrickfergus to an emphatic 120 run victory over Killyclooney in the final of the RSA National Cup at Downpatrick. The Indian professional took 5 for 26 as Killyclooney were dismissed for 107 chasing a Carrick total of 227 for 8.

Man of the Match Kamtekar bowled in tandem with former Irish international Ryan Eagleson, who although capped as a pace bowler, now operates as a more than useful off-spinner.

Eagleson took 3 for 14, including a stunning caught and bowled to dismiss Killyclooney skipper Mark Gordon, whose 14 included two huge sixes. Alan Colhoun made a breezy 44 (5 fours, 1 six) for the NW side, sharing a stand of 44 for the 3rd wicket with Craig Campbell (14), after Anthony Martin and Richard Hood had taken the early wickets of James Colhoun and Timmy Dougherty.

Irish National Cup 2014 - Man of the Match Indrajeet Kamtekar with Joe Doherty © CricketEuropeEarlier, the Carrickfergus top six all got starts in an impressive batting display, with Jamie Holmes top scoring with 49, sharing a second wicket stand of 84 with skipper Iain Parkhill (37). Alex Haggan (35), Ryan Eagleson (32), Michael Gilmour (29) and Kamtekar (26) all batted well ensuring Killyclooney were never really able to stem the steady flow of runs.

Richard McMorris bowled with great guile and pace to claim 4 for 50, but by that stage Carrick were already well on their way past 200.

Carrick are the second NCU side to win the prestigious trophy, following Muckamore’s success in the inaugural competition in 2012. They have a chance to add another trophy to their collection next Sunday when they face Downpatrick in the final of the Ulster Shield.

RSA National Cup Final at Strangford Road, Downpatrick CC
Carrickfergus 227-8 (J Holmes 49, I Parkhill 37, A Haggan 35no, R Eagleson 32, M Gilmour 29,I Kamtekar 26, R McMorris 4-50)
Killyclooney 107 (A Colhoun 44, I Kamtekar 5-26, R Eagleson 3-14)
Carrickfergus beat Killyclooney 120 runs

(All photos © CricketEurope)