Newstalk Inter-Provincial Championship – Leinster Lightning v Northern Knights – Day 3 Report and Scorecard

Feb 27, 2020 | Uncategorised

Newstalk Inter-Provincial Championship – Leinster Lightning v Northern Knights – Day 3 Report and Scorecard

Barry Chambers

Lightning complete 157 run win over Knights

Leinster Lightning duly completed a 157 run win against the Northern Knights with just over an hour to spare on the third day of their Newstalk Inter-Provincial clash at College Park. Three wickets apiece from Eddie Richardson (3-24) and Albert van der Merwe (3-35) helped Lightning to the hard-fought win as both James Shannon (27) and David Simpson (24no) battled hard, but ultimately in vain to earn a draw for the Knights.

Their best chance of surviving 98 overs chasing an unlikely 334 to win, lay with opener Nick Larkin, but for the second time in the game, the North Down man ran himself out, following a mix-up with Lee Nelson. Larkin had scored 247 against the same opposition in this competition last year, and his dismissal for 40 gave Lightning  a tremendous boost shortly after lunch.

James Shannon batted a marathon 149 balls for his 27, but his dismissal by Van Der Merwe was quickly followed by that of Mark Adair to bring last man James Cameron-Dow to the crease. It was perhaps fitting that the coup de grace was applied by Andrew Poynter, the stand-out batsman in the game with two fluent half centuries. James Cameron-Down sportingly walked after a fine edge to wicket-keeper Fintan McAllister.

The win sees Lightning extend their lead to 20 points ahead of the Knights, ahead of their home clash with NW Warriors at the same venue in two weeks time.

LEINSTER LIGHTNING 290-9 dec (99.4 overs, J Anderson 60, A Poynter 54, J Mooney 36, F McAllister 35, S Getkate 3-47, J Cameron-Dow 3-77) and
187-6 dec (56.5 overs, A Poynter 62, S Singh 48, P Collins 41, I Wasim 2-21, M Adair 2-31)
NORTHERN KNIGHTS   144 (51.2 overs, S Getkate 34, I Wasim 26, N Larkin 26, M Sorensen 4-34, E Richardson 3-28, J Mooney 2-17) and
176 (81.1 overs, N Larkin 40, J Shannon 27, D Simpson 24, S Getkate 21, E Richardson 3-24, A van der Merwe 3-35)