Under 13 and Under 15 NCU Regional Development Squads 2011/12

Feb 21, 2020 | Uncategorised

Under 13 and Under 15 NCU Regional Development Squads 2011/12

Nigel Jones (NCU Cricket Development Officer)

Over the past couple of months the Under 13s and Under 15s (Provincial) Regional Development Squad sessions have been taking place in Ballyclare, Belfast and Lisburn.  These sessions have seen over 120 young Cricketers across both age groups test their skills against one another in the hope of gaining final Regional Development Squad selection for 2012.  Out of the 18 players selected for the final RD Squads at each age group, it is intended that 13 of these players will be selected in late May for the NCU Interprovincial Squads.

This year sees the restructuring of both the Under 13s and Under 15s RDS Programmes.  The aim behind this change is to better support and challenge our young future Cricketing stars, through a more robust and extensive programme.  The framework at both age groups is essentially the same with the only real difference being in the content delivered due to player development norms and performance.

The final RDS Programmes for both the Under 13s and Under 15s year groups started in the middle of February at the Shankill Leisure Centre and finish by the end of May, in which time 6 indoor sessions and 3 outdoor sessions will have taken place at both year levels.  Once these have been completed, the NCU Interprovincial squads will be selected and their respective programmes will begin with immediate effect, leading into the Interprovincial Tournaments which start at the beginning of July.

The NCU Final RDS Squads for 2012

Age Group: Under 13 Under 15
Coaches: Andrew Cowden  Simon Johnston
Michael Hingston Eugene Moleon
Alan Kennedy  Alan Waite
Under 13 Squad Under 15 Squad
James McClean (Ballymena) John Matchett (CIYMS)
John Glass (Ballymena) Paddy Beverland (CSNI)
Jack Burton (Carrickfergus) Ben McGavock (CSNI)
Callum Gibson (Lurgan) Jack Beattie (CIYMS)
Matthew Lightbody (Lisburn) Aaron Wright (Armagh)
Neil Allen (Lurgan) Johnny Morton (Bangor)
Ben Rose (Instonians) Thomas Magowan (Downpatrick)
Owen Kirk (Templepatrick) Adam Dennison (Waringstown)
Jonathan Hunter (Lurgan) Craig Kennedy (Waringstown)
Stuart Nelson (Cregagh) James Mitchell (Waringstown)
Hugh Gibbons (Saintfield) Sam Wilson (Waringstown)
James Hume (Cregagh) Matthew Hurst (Waringstown)
James Pollard (CSNI) Ross Waite (Waringstown)
Charlie Shannon (Holywood) Marcus McClean (Waringstown)
Jack Carson (Waringstown) Andrew Forbes (Carrickfergus)
Morgan Topping (Waringstown) Sam Gordon (Muckamore)
Morgan Lapworth (Cliftonville) Francis Collins (Academy)
Taj Onyekwelu (Bangor)

Both squads have been notified and once again we would like to wish them all the best during their respective programmes and for final Interprovincial selection.