LVS T20 Cup & Trophy Semi-Finals Day

Jun 23, 2024 | General News

Belmont and Sandy Bay played host to 4 semi-final games across the LVS T20 Cup and Trophy competitions.

Highlights of the semi-finals:

  • Waringstown skipper Greg Thompson hit an unbeaten 82* to guide his side to 163-6 in the 11 am fixture. Despite a round 50 from in-form batsman Ruhan Pretorius, Woodvale could not chase down the 1st innings total and was 12 runs short. For Waringstown, James Cameron-Dow and Josh Froggatt took 3 wickets each with Ben Snell taking 2.
  • In the 11 am match at Sandy Bay, Belfast batted first and posted a below-par 99-9 with Jaydee Oliver scoring the bulk of the runs with 29. Lurgan’s Adam Johnson and Reghard Els both claimed 2 wickets each. Lurgan skipper Stephen Johnston led from the front, carrying his bat for 51* in the chase.
  • Onto the afternoon game at Sandy Bay between Donacloney Mill and Templepatrick. Templepatrick batted first and scored 148-6 with Michael Stewart (41*), Samuel O’Mahoney (32) and Richard Greer (24) contributing to the total. Harry Lockhart was the pick of the Donacloney Mill bowlers taking 3-26 from his 4 overs. Needing 149 to win, Donacloney Mill took to the crease and got over the line for the loss of 2 wickets after 18.1 overs- Shane Warren (69) and Atish Varape (49*) top-scored.
  • Back to Belmont for the closest game of the day between Lisburn and CIYMS. The Belmont side batted first and posted 171-5 with runs from Carson McCullough (47*) and plenty of 20s from Ross Adair, John Matchett, Max Burton, Tyron Koen and Bamanye Xenxe adding to the total. Lisburn skipper Neil Whitworth took 2 wickets with 1 apiece for Josh Manley, Mark Adair and Adam Kennedy. The Lisburn chase got underway with Jonny Waite hitting 46 before being bowled and James Hunter led the attack with 81 from 41 balls. With 6 runs needed off the last 3 balls, Josh Manley did just that and won the game with a 6.

Full scorecards can be found in NCU NVplay Matchzone:

A huge thank you must go to CIYMS CC and Larne CC for hosting the games at Belmont and Sandy Bay today. The pitches, hospitality etc were superb and it was a great day of cricket at both grounds.

LVS T20 Finals Day will take place on Sunday 21st July at The Lawn, Waringstown.

11 am-Donacloney Mill v Lurgan

3 pm- Lisburn v Waringstown